Skip to main content

Tagged!

A fellow mommy blogger tagged me for this one. Thanks Kim!

Here are the rules:
A. Post the rules at the beginning.

B. Answer the questions about yourself.

C. Tag 5 people and let them know in a comment on their blogs that they have been tagged.
Meagan, Sara, Pickel, LawyerMama, PunditMom

What Was I Doing 10 Years Ago?
Enjoying our post-college years and trying to decide to move to DC or not. Obviously, I didn't. Instead I stayed in Chicago and spent the next 3 summers at Wrigley Field. I'll never have a better tan than during that time period.

Snacks I Enjoy: Chocolate, cupcakes, chocolate cupcakes, and cinnamon pita chips. Gotta have something semi-healthy!



Five Things on my To-Do List Today: 1) Transfer money from my account to our joint account; 2) Email Jenny re: meeting up in Btown next week; 3) Write my column that's due on the 25th! 4) Finish up a mailing for work work; 5) Got out of the office early so we can hit Target for Easter goodies.


Things I Would Do if I Became a Billionaire: I would pay off the in-laws house and cars, set up a college fund for the nephews and the daughter, travel to all those conferences I want to attend and retreats, stay home do volunteer work, work on my writing, and of course, open up that family care center on campus that is sorely needed. You know, where workers can bring in the baby and Grandma for the day. Family fun! Oh...and buy that 6 flat on the block, duplex both sides and turn the first floor into offices and a studio for a certain crafty chick.

Three Bad Habits: Eating at my desk, too much time online, and saying 'yes' too often.

Five Places I Have Lived: I've lived in the Chicago area since I was 4, but before that I lived in Columbia, SC (dad's basic training), Corpus Christi, TX (mom left me there with her big sis for a few months), Colorado Springs, Co (more Army fun!), and I think I logged a few months in San Antonio, TX during the insane first few years of my life while Dad was in the Army and Mom & I followed him around the country.

Jobs I Have Had: Pizza Puff maker (drop frozen puff into vat of hot grease), movie theater concessioner (Mmm...free nachos), tuxedo rental place assistant (yes, I hemmed, sewed, and ironed tuxes...which is why I don't iron now), Payless Shoe worker (where I met my husband!), Greenpeace door canvasser (ding dong...Hi! I'm Veronica, did you know that in the event of a nuclear meltdown, we have X minutes to take cover?), office assistant in a brokerage firm (got fired from there!), sold t-shirts and stuff at the United Center (during the Jordan II era), fish researcher (published baby!), academic advisor, and various variations on my current job.

Things People Don't Know About Me:
Hmmmm....I'm pretty open, so if you don't know it, I probably don't want you to know it. That or I haven't found the right time to tell you.

Comments

PunditMom said…
Hmmmm -- I'll start thinking!
Anonymous said…
You're awesome. I'm touched.

I may just snag this myself. And you know how I feel about memes. :)
Anonymous said…
Oh goodness, V, this is too much to ask from a meme slacker like me!!

Popular posts from this blog

Review: Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter

Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter by Brea Grant My rating: 4 of 5 stars View all my reviews

Frederick, A Virtual Puppet Performance - Read by Michael Shannon

WOW...this is my first post during the Coronavirus pandemic! I hope you and your loved ones are healthy and safe. Thanks to the Chicago Children’s Theatre, the city’s largest professional theater devoted exclusively to children and families, for launching a new YouTube channel, CCTv: Virtual Theatre and Learning from Chicago Children’s Theatre. To kick if off we are treated to Frederick. Here's hoping this helps with your little ones. Or is a comfort to everyone of all ages. Chicago Children’s Theatre’s all-new virtual puppet performance was created while all of the artists were sheltering in place, working with resources limited to what they had in their homes or on their laptops. Frederick is directed by CCT Co-Founder and Artistic Director Jacqueline Russell. Puppets and sets were designed, built and puppeteered in a home studio by Grace Needlman and Will Bishop, CCT’s Director of Production, the creative team behind CCT’s annual series of Beatrix Potter puppet show

Book Review: Wolfpack by Abby Wambach

Less than a year ago, Abby Wambach took the stage at Barnard's commencement and gave a speech that shook many, including myself, to the core . Her speech went viral and I made the above image in order to share the highlights of her speech. Earlier this month Abby released the speech in book form. Wolfpack : How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game is short (less than 100 pages) but is much more than just her speech . You get a peek into how the speech came together and why she said everything. And because the book is short and is an expanded speech, it moves quickly. I feel that it moves with the same ferocity that Abby use to move down a soccer field. And you might find yourself cheering as she takes you through the story. Abby has always been one of my favorite players. The way she ran amok on the pitch was exactly the way I felt I played sports. Never caring how you looked and giving it your all. Leaving it all on the field. When she retired from socc